arndale ubuntu-desktop

Discussion of Samsung Exynos 5420 Arndale-OCTA Community Board.
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 6:00 am

arndale ubuntu-desktop

Postby twkim » Mon Apr 07, 2014 6:33 am

Hi
I am using arndale-octa(Exynos 5420).
I need to get ubuntu-desktop image(with UI).
Just i could find ubuntu-server(just terminal..) in Linaro Releases site.
Please tell me the way to make ubuntu-desktop image file.
Waiting for someone who know reference site etc.

Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 4:54 pm

Re: arndale ubuntu-desktop

Postby solmis » Mon Apr 07, 2014 3:22 pm

Ok, I'll bite:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop

Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 1:42 pm

Re: arndale ubuntu-desktop

Postby jefby » Tue Apr 08, 2014 2:44 am

solmis wrote:Ok, I'll bite:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop

can it work ?? the HDMI now can work ??

Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 4:54 pm

Re: arndale ubuntu-desktop

Postby solmis » Tue Apr 08, 2014 4:52 am

Yes, HDMI was fixed. I'm using awesome wm and it works fine. A proper display driver would be great but I'm not holding my breath. There's no xv support for example so watching videos in non-native resolution isn't very enjoyable. But it works fine for my needs.

Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 6:00 am

Re: arndale ubuntu-desktop

Postby twkim » Tue Apr 08, 2014 10:26 am

I cant see the display yet.

At the first time, 'sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop' do not show display.
And 'sudo apt-get install gdm' also do not work..

In bootloader, type command manually like this

setenv bootrootfs "console=tty1 console=ttySAC2,115200n8 root=UUID=e139ce78-9841-40fe-8823-96a304a09859 rootwait ro"
setenv fb_x_res "1280"
setenv fb_y_res "720"
setenv vout "hdmi"
setenv left "56"
setenv right "24"
setenv upper "3"
setenv lower "3"
setenv hsync "14"
setenv vsync "3"
setenv fb_control "left=${left} right=${right} upper=${upper} lower=${lower} vsync=${vsync} hsync=${hsync}"
setenv hdmi_phy_res "720p60hz"
setenv bootargs "${bootrootfs} ${fb_control} fb_x_res=${fb_x_res} fb_y_res=${fb_y_res} vout=${vout} hdmi_phy_res=${hdmi_phy_res}"

sav


and type boot. also no display work

Could you tell me more information for output display please?
And what is wm?

using
Moniter SyncMaster S23B300
Ver. 1.3 HDMI port

Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 4:54 pm

Re: arndale ubuntu-desktop

Postby solmis » Tue Apr 08, 2014 2:29 pm

Just grab the latest nano image for octa from linaro and dd it to an sd card. Login as linaro/linaro and start installing what you need.

Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 1:42 pm

Re: arndale ubuntu-desktop

Postby jefby » Thu Apr 10, 2014 2:23 am

solmis wrote:Just grab the latest nano image for octa from linaro and dd it to an sd card. Login as linaro/linaro and start installing what you need.

Hi , i downloaded the latest nano image(linaro 14.3),and entered the system ,and type the command like below:
$ sudo apt-get update
$ sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop
then , i reboot and found it can show some UI,but when i typed the passwd and found it show nothing ,just black .Do you know how to fix it ??Thanks very much!

Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 4:54 pm

Re: arndale ubuntu-desktop

Postby solmis » Thu Apr 10, 2014 6:21 am

Maybe Unity requires hardware acceleration? Try installing some other de like xfce/kde and change the session from your login manager before you login.

Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 8:41 am

Re: arndale ubuntu-desktop

Postby incuvvn » Mon Aug 03, 2015 6:08 am

Hi,

I bought arndale 5250 and working with linaro image 14.04.

Pleas help me to get my hdmi work with it.

I am not able to get the display even after installing the xinit and startx.

the
Code: Select all
startx
command giving nothing.

Its hanging in the command itself.

Please get me out of this hell.

Thanks and regards,
VVN

Return to Samsung Exynos 5 Arndale-OCTA Board

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 1 guest